booklist

I finally finished reading Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift, last night. That took me such a very very long time. Not quite as long as it took me to read The Last of the Mohicans, but still, a fairly long time. I definitely liked this book more than i liked The Last of the Mohicans, but i still wasn’t completely sold on it either. While there were many parts of the novel that were extremely dry, a little dull and sometimes too bizarre, there were things about it that i absolutely loved as well. I really love how sarcastic Jonathan Swift is and i loved that the whole book was a satire. Some parts of it were really strange though and that was a little difficult to wrap my head around. I feel like this book is something i would totally love to read for an english course because i know i would love to study it and understand all the intricacies and complexities of the novel that i know i missed. The entire last section of the book is my very favourite part of the entire thing. I really want to reread it sometime, before i die. haha. not anytime soon though. so yeah. Gulliver’s Travels. Succesfully read

– angela

now i can at long last move on to reading a book from my booklist that i started in the summer

Booklist:

1. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
2. Volkswagen Blues by Jacques Poulin
3. The Awakening by Kate Chopin

4. The Forged Coupon by Leo Tolstoy
5. Catch 22 by Joseph Heller
6. On the Road by Jack Kerouac
7. This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald

8. Les Portes Tournantes (the revolving doors) by Jacques Savoie
9. Still Life With Woodpecker by Tom Robbins
10. Breakfast of Chanpions by Kurt Vonnegut
11. The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner

i bought Breakfast of Champions yesterday. It’s a book that was put on my booklist not by myself, but by someone else. that’s perfectly okay though because i feel like i would have decided to want to read that book on my own anyway. i’m kind of pumped for it. i have no idea what it’s about and that’s kind of fun!

1 Comment

Filed under Angela

One response to “booklist