girls

by nicole

I am in the middle of compiling stuff for a post about everything that rules about the seventies. It is a fairly daunting task, seeing as there are a tonne of super awesome things that came from that decade and it’s exam time so I am putting on hold for the time being.

However, I would like to suggest a band that I have major reservations about! I can’t really decide how I feel about them, but I am really into the songs entitled “Laura” and “Morning light”. Perhaps if I never watched their brutally hipster music videos on you tube, I’d feel a little more decisive. I’m not going to post them here because I don’t want to ruin your lives. Anyway, “Laura” has a major Elvis Costello vibe to me – the majority of the songs have that vibe, actually – so I just pictured the guy looking like Elvis Costello and my heart was broken when I saw that he looks like the human embodiment of California. Huge bummer. And I just like the song “Morning Light” an awful lot. Overall I don’t really feel like it has the best flow. I don’t think “Morning Light” sounds like the rest of the songs on the album, not that that’s a bad thing. It kind of reminds me of the Stills, Sonic Youth, or My Bloody Valentine. Or maybe some other band that I’m forgetting. I don’t know.

I guess it is overall pretty mediocre but I like it. Instead of uploading those two songs, I will just include a link to download the entire album so you can decide how you feel about them. I never uploaded it, so be wary of viruses and whatnot.
Girls – Album (2009)
Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Nicole

One response to “girls

  1. that has happened to me numerous times and it’s so disappointing. when i found out what band of horses looked like i cried a thousand tears

    -smp